Our website uses cookies find out moreX

Competitive Start Award

Competitive Start Award

Login or Register for prices

The ASA, ISRM, RoSPA, RLSS UK and other bodies, believe that swimmers should demonstrate shallow racing dive competence before being permitted to dive into shallow water i.e. water depth between 0.9m and 1.3m. the asa’s guidance is that competence should be demonstrated by achieving the standard of the Competitive Start Award. These standards are a requirement for competitions under ASA Law.

The Preliminary Competitive Start Award was introduced over ten years ago to ensure the safety of swimmers who perform racing dives. Teaching begins in deep water before progressing to diving from the side of the pool and starting blocks into shallow water. Once swimmers have mastered the skills in the Preliminary Competitive Start Award, they can progress to the Competitive Start Award.

The Competitive Start Award, teaches safe racing starts into shallow water from a starting block and a variety of starting techniques.

PWTAG & Swim England

The Pool Water Treatment Advisory Group (PWTAG) has teamed up with Swim England to fulfil orders for its books, guides and posters. You have been re-directed to the Swim England shop in order to continue with your purchase.

Continue to Swim England Take me back to PWTAG