Swim schools & centres - Login for your discounts

Preliminary Competitive Start Award

Preliminary Competitive Start Award

£2.18 (£2.62 inc Vat)

Swim England's emphasis on learner safety continues with the Preliminary Competitive Start Award, complementing Stages 1-7 of the Swim England Learn to Swim Framework and the Competitive Start Award for Stages 8-10.


Shallow diving can cause serious injuries but by completing these awards children will develop the competence to dive in water of no less than 1.35m deep. This is a standard required for competitions under Swim England law.


Teaching for the Preliminary Competitive Start Award begins in deep water before moving to the side of the pool and shallower water. Once swimmers have mastered the skills in the Preliminary Competitive Start Award, they can progress to the Competitive Start Award to learn safe race dives from a starter block.

PWTAG & Swim England

The Pool Water Treatment Advisory Group (PWTAG) has teamed up with Swim England to fulfil orders for its books, guides and posters. You have been re-directed to the Swim England shop in order to continue with your purchase.

Continue to Swim England Take me back to PWTAG